Need help finding shrubs that grow in the shade.

I have a lot of shade in my garden due to a giant, old birch tree. We thought maybe we’d have to take down the birch after the December ice storm, but it seems okay. The neighbour’s tree did more damage to the birch than the ice. I have one spot behind the birch that gets zero sun. There used to be some old shrubs that grew along the fence, but since our other neighbour half built a fence in front of the existing fence, I can no longer see into their yard (sigh of relief). And so, last weekend I dug out the old mangled shrubs. Now I have to decide what to plant there. I’d love a lush patch of various hostas, but then there is puppy. So shrubs it it. Any suggestions?

 

Leave a Reply

