Vegan Chocolates

photo

I had some help in the kitchen the other day so I put her to work making coconut butter. Coconut butter is very easy to make. You need a 200 gram bag of unsweetened coconut and a food processor. It takes about 25 minutes and you have to stop the machine often and scrape down the sides (my helper was only allowed to press the buttons), but the result is a creamy coconut butter that you can spread on toast, a muffin, or use to make these chocolates. I had some left over after making the chocolates and it does harden up at room temperature, but I just sliced a bit and put it on a warm muffin where it got all melty.

Sometimes I make more own raw chocolate, but it has to be kept in the fridge and it gets all gooey if you leave it out too long. I knew I wanted to take these chocolates with me to the coffee shop so I used Enjoy Life chocolate chips for the chocolate (they are vegan and gluten free). This also made the process too easy. You just melt some chocolate chips (about a cup) in a double boiler (or use a heat safe bowl over a pot of water). Pour the melted chocolate in the cavities of your chocolate mold, filling about a third of the mold. Add a layer of coconut butter, again filling about a third of the mold. Place the mold in the freezer for 10 minutes and then top the coconut butter layer with another layer of chocolate. Place back in the freezer until set. Pop the chocolates out of the mold and store them in an airtight container. I keep mine in the fridge, but they do okay at room temperature too. I made 12 chocolates because that is what my mold made, and I did have some coconut butter left over. You’ll have to adjust the quantities based on the chocolate mold you are using.

These chocolates are much healthier than your usual store bought confections. The coconut layer adds a nice creamy centre and a touch of sweetness. Happy Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

