Fruit flies…

photoAs we start to haul in our fruit and vegetable garden bounty we also tend to see a flourish of fruit flies in the kitchen. I have tried all sorts of contraptions, but one day I was making salad dressing and had my cider vinegar out on the counter. Fruit flies were swarming the bottle, so I poured some in a small mason jar and left it on the counter. I came back about an hour later and the bottom of the jar was littered with the little flies. Success! I later googled and found that you can add a drop of dish soap to the cider vinegar to prevent the flies from being able to fly out once they hit the surface of the liquid… I haven’t found this step necessary, but if you want to be sure to rid your kitchen of these pesky little flies, you may want to take the extra measure!

Leave a Reply

